1. Introduction


Image result for iggy mcgovern poet

Latest: to read ‘Poblacht na Hero’, a short story in ‘In the Wake of The Rising’ an anthology issue of The Stinging Fly, and featured on RTE Radio 1, The Book on One, see page 8.

Latest: the presentation of A Mystic Dream of 4 via volunteer readers at The Institute of Physics in London; see http://www.iopblog.org/history-of-physics-group-becomes-well-versed-on-william-rowan-hamilton/

Iggy McGovern is a poet and retired academic; he is a Fellow Emeritus in the School of Physics at Trinity College Dublin and has published two collections of poetry with Dedalus Press, The King of Suburbia (2005) and Safe House (2010). He edited the anthology 2012: Twenty Irish Poets Respond to Science in Twelve Lines, published by Dedalus Press in association with Quaternia Press, and co-edited (with Jean-Patrick Connerade) Science Meets Poetry 3, published by Euroscience. His most recent book, A Mystic Dream of 4, a poetic biography of William Rowan Hamilton, 19th century Irish Mathematician & Poet, is published by Quaternia Press (2013). His most recent appointment is Alexander von Humboldt Visiting Researcher at ELINAS, Friedrich-Alexander Universitaet Erlangen-Nuernberg 2015. A new collection, The Eyes of Isaac Newton, will be published by Dedalus Press in October 2017.





3 ways to get your copy of A Mystic Dream of 4:

(1) Send euro cheque/sterling cheque/dollar check to

Iggy McGovern, 40 Gledswood Ave, Clonskeagh, Dublin D14 RC90 Ireland

Prices (inclusive of postage world wide)

Paperback – Sold out

Hardback €23/£20/$30 each or 3 copies for €60/£52/$78

For further information email Quaterniapress@gmail.com

(2) Credit card payment via www.dedaluspress.com (per item prices and postage extra)

(3) Selected city centre outlets:

Dublin: Books Upstairs (D’Olier St)

Belfast: No Alibis Bookshop (Botanic Ave)


Copies of The King of Suburbia (Dedalus 2005) and Safe House (Dedalus 2010) can be obtained directly from the publisher (www.dedaluspress.com)


This site consists of 9 further pages (see black panel list), as follows:

Poetry Activity-  a listing of activities, recent and planned, such as readings, workshops etc


Book Reviews

A selection of published poems – mainly from the three collections

Poems for occasions – University events, exhibition openings, etc

Poems in translation – French & Polish

Short Prose Pieces – mainly essays broadcast on RTE Sunday Miscellany

Science Meets Poetry – a developing field



last updated 02.07.16

Comments are closed.